Waste Disposal

Waste transfer stations are provided in the communities of Benneydale, Piopio, Marokopa, Kinohaku, Mokau/ Awakino and a fully consented District landfill is located in Te Kuiti.

WDC provides a kerbside collection service for recyclables and residual household waste for Te Kuiti, Piopio, Mokau and that part of the rural Ward in and around Te Kuiti and Waitomo Village.

Solid Waste Bylaw

The Solid Waste Bylaw ensures that household waste is reduced, collected and disposed of in the interests of public health and in an efficient and cost effective manner. It also provides for the efficient collection and recovery of recyclable waste; to ensure that the obstruction of streets and roads by waste for collection is minimised and to manage waste management facilities for the optimum disposal or recycling of waste. 

Waitomo District Landfill

Waitomo District Landfill is a modern day lined landfill that complies with all necessary Resource Consent conditions and accepts all forms of refuse except for hazardous waste (PDF, 558 Kb) substances.

Payment options: Cash, cheque and eftpos.

Entrance to Waitomo District Landfill on Williams Street Te Kuiti


The Transfer Station at the Waitomo District Landfill accepts e-waste for collection. Electronic Waste (e-waste) is waste electrical equipment that has become obsolete, broken or unwanted. This includes computers, computer screens, fax machines, home whiteware, TVs and electrical cables, basically anything with a plug.

Re-use Shop

A small, monitored re-use shop allows for better storage of household items that are in good condition and available for purchase by the public.

Recycling Area

The recycling area is located at the front entrance to the Landfill. Waste items including paper and cardboard, glass bottles green, clear and brown and plastic (types 1 and 2) are collected for recycling. Large volumes of recyclables can be disposed of at the Landfill recycling area.

Recycling area at Waitomo District Landfill

Landscape Supplies

  • Riverstone - small to large grades.
  • Limestone - fines to large chip
  • Garden Mulch - second grade quality (unscreened).

Landscape supplies

Waste Transfer Stations

WDC provides Waste Transfer Stations at the communities of Benneydale, Piopio, Marokopa (new), Kinohaku and Mokau/ Awakino. The Transfer Stations are supervised during opening hours and provide Recycling Facilities.

Payment options: Cash and cheque only (no eftpos).

WDC also provides public recycling stations at:

  • Waitomo Village adjacent to the playground on Waitomo Caves Road.
  • Piopio at Kara Park (shown below).
  • Mokau village.
  • Marokopa Transfer Station.

These stations are for small volumes of recycling.

Public recycling station at Waitomo Caves Village

Location and Opening Hours of District Transfer Stations

Any change to the opening hours will be published under 'News' on our website and under public notices in the Waitomo News.

Transfer Station / location

 Mon  Tues  Wed Thurs   Fri  Sat  Sun
Transfer Station at Waitomo District Landfill, Williams Street Te Kuiti. Closed Closed  9am - 4pm 9am - 4pm  9am - 4pm  9am - 4pm  9am - 4pm 
Mine Road, Benneydale 9am - 1pm  Closed 9am - 1pm Closed  Closed  8am - 12 noon  1pm - 5pm 

Corner of Te Waitere Rd and Harbour Rd, Kinohaku

9am - 1pm  Closed  Closed  Closed  Closed  Closed  12 noon - 4pm

Manganui Road, Awakino. 

(temporary change to opening hours)

Closed Closed Closed Closed  Closed   Closed 12 noon - 4pm
Corner of Aria Rd and Kahuwera Rd, Piopio. 

8.30am - 4.30pm 

Closed  9am - 1pm  Closed  Closed   8am - 12 noon  1pm - 5pm 
Marokopa Rd (approx 400m East of Village), Marokopa.  9am - 1pm  Closed  Closed  Closed  9am - 1pm  8am - 12 noon  10am - 2pm