Management Structure

The Council is responsible for employing the Chief Executive and its principal relationship is with the Chief Executive.

The Chief Executive is responsible for establishing and maintaining the operational structure of the Council. A group of senior managers, who are called the “executive management team”, manage key work programmes. 

Council staff provide the elected members with policy advice and implement policies under the direction of the Chief Executive. They decide the operational approach needed to complete the Council’s policies and to achieve the results the Council wants.

Elected Members (Councillors) cannot direct Council staff.



Executive Management Team

Chris Ryan - Chief Executive

Chris Ryan

Position: Chief Executive Officer

Vibhuti Chopra - Group Manager Corporate Services  

Vibhuti Chopra

Position: Group Manager Corporate Services

Areas: Financial and Business advice, Management of Investments, Information and Communication Technology, Strategic communications and public relations, Statutory and legal duties, Policy and Strategy.

Helen Beever - Group Manager Customer Services

Helen Beever

Position: Group Manager Community Services

Areas: Customer Service delivery, Visitor Information Centre, District Library Services, Community Development, Economic Development, Human Resources, Civil Defence.

Kobus du Toit - Group Manager Assets  

Kobus du Toit

Position: General Manager - Infrastructure Services

Areas: Water and Waste Asset Management, Roads and Footpaths, Parks and Reserves, Public Amenities, Buildings and Structures, Projects, Quality Assurance, Asset Management Plans, Strategic Direction.
Terrena Kelly  

Terrena Kelly

Position: General Manager - Environmental Services

Areas: Building Control, Alcohol Licensing, Environmental Health, Animal and Dog Control, Bylaw Administration, Resource Management.




Key Support Staff:



Joanna Towler

Position: Manager - Local Roads


Les Clarke

Position: Manager - Operational Services


Kat Brown-Merrin

Position: Manager - Customer Services


Clowdy Ngatai

Position: Community Development Coordinator


Kelly Marriott

Position: Communications Officer