Interesting Titles

Whether you are looking for a page turner or a book to expand your mind, you can find recommendations from these interesting titles:

ADULT'S FICTION AND NON-FICTION

Bathurst

Bathurst: Celebrating 75 years of racing at Mount Panorama

by Gordon Lomas

Bathurst is a richly photographed account of the most heart-stopping wins, worst tragedies and biggest disputes in the remarkable history of Australian motor racing's holy grail.

Renowned racing journalist Gordon Lomas captures it all – from the perennial Holden and Ford rivalry, to the triumphs of legends such as Peter Brock, Craig Lowndes and Jamie Whincup, to the 75-year anniversary celebrations at Mount Panorama.

 Boy made of blocks

A boy made of blocks

by Keith Stuart

In the tradition of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls comes a warm and tender novel in which a father and his autistic son connect over the game of Minecraft.

As Alex navigates single life, long-buried family secrets, and part-time fatherhood, his son begins playing Minecraft. Together, they discover that sometimes life must fall apart before you can build a better one.

Inspired by the author’s own relationship with his autistic son, A Boy Made of Blocks is a tear-jerking, funny, and, most, of all true-to-life novel about the power of difference and one very special little boy.

Rushing waters 

Rushing waters

by Danielle Steel

Hurricane Ophelia is bearing down on New York City. And in a matter of hours, six people, along with their families, friends, and millions of other New Yorkers living around them, will be caught up in the horrific flooding it unleashes.

A day of chaos takes its toll. Lives, belongings, and loved ones are swept away. Heroes are revealed as the city and New Yorkers struggle to face a natural disaster of epic proportions. And then the real challenge begins, as the survivors face their futures, with damage to repair and scars to heal.

Keenly observed and brilliantly told, this is an unforgettable story that proves that while life can change in an instant, even the darkest storm can bring forth courage, resilience, unexpected joy, and new life. And it reminds us all that nature, at its fiercest, is a powerful force nothing and no one can resist.

CHILDREN'S NON-FICTION

Speed King

Speed King: Burt Munro, the World's Fastest Indian

by David hill

In 1967 an unknown, elderly New Zealander and his ancient Indian motorcycle set a world land-speed record at Bonneville. The man was Burt Munro, and he became a Kiwi legend. How did he do it? His amazing true story is now a stunning picture book.

A wonderful true story about a very unlikely New Zealand champion, by the award-winning author and illustrator of First to the Top.

How does GPS work

How does GPS work?

by Leon Gray

When taking a road trip today, some sort of GPS device is essential. It may be built into the cars dashboard, or perhaps its just an app on a smartphone. But GPS is used for more than just finding your way!

Readers will be fascinated by its beginnings as a military system and its many modern uses, such as catching criminals, predicting earthquakes, and creating maps. Colorful photographs illustrate real-life examples of GPS technology, military and civilian, and informative text clearly explains the science and math concepts behind the satellites and receivers used all over the world.

Enquire about one of these books

Back to Library home pageBack to Library home page

Updated September 2016